Events

« Friday February 07, 2014 »
Fri
Start: 7:00 pm
Credit: Thomas Sayers Ellis     Youth Event: Tony AbbottFriday, February 7, 7:00 p.m.The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone  Tony Abbott, bestselling author of the Secrets of Droon series, is back with an epic new middle-grade series, The Copernicus Legacy, which begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action.Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past—before it's too late.With word games and rebus puzzles to spare, this has everything: international intrigue, fast-paced action, entertaining characters, and a healthy helping of science history. And it supports the Common Core State Standards.
Start: 7:30 pm
Friday, February 7, 7:30 p.m.Your Inner Fish: A Journey into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Bodyby Neil ShubinWhy do we look the way we do? Neil Shubin, the paleontologist and professor of anatomy who co-discovered Tiktaalik, the “fish with hands,” tells the story of our bodies as you've never heard it before. By examining fossils and DNA, he shows us that our hands actually resemble fish fins, our heads are organized like long-extinct jawless fish, and major parts of our genomes look and function like those of worms and bacteria.
Syndicate content